Certified CMMI® Associate

Whether you are new to capability and performance improvement, or already serving as a subject matter expert on CMMI-based project teams, the CMMI Associate Certification can get your career on the right path or take it to the next level. For more details, please see the FAQs for this item here.


The first of its kind, the Certified CMMI® Associate will help individuals committed to excellence in capability improvement to identify themselves for professional career growth and advancement. The CMMI Associate certification also allows organizations to confidently hire and reward credible practitioners.

CMMI Associate certification provides confirmation of an individual’s knowledge of basic concepts and demonstrates a dedication to excellence and the pursuit of valuable skills to help to elevate organizational performance. CMMI Associates are examined for their understanding of the three CMMI models: CMMI for Acquisition, CMMI for Development, and CMMI for Services.

Organizations seeking experienced employees and partners to cultivate and enhance internal strategies for capability improvement will also benefit from the new accreditation by assuring that they are hiring credible and capable practitioners to support their business goals.

If you’re beginning your journey as a CMMI practitioner and looking to demonstrate your commitment to capability and performance improvement efforts, earn additional responsibility, and stand out to potential employers, the CMMI Associate Certificate is right for you.

Getting Certified

Becoming a Certified CMMI Associate involves a number of steps along the path to certification.  Click to expand each of the steps below to see the details.

If you have any questions about the Certification process, please email certification-info@cmmiinstitute.com.

  Step 1: Complete a prerequisite CMMI training course

  Step 2: Prepare for the CMMI Associate Exam

The CMMI Associate Exam is designed to test your knowledge and understanding of all three CMMI models:  CMMI for Acquisition, CMMI for Development, and CMMI for Services.

We recommend that you become familiar with all three models through the Fundamentals of CMMI elearning course, which covers all three models.

If you completed a model-specific Introduction to CMMI course, you may choose to review with the Fundamentals of CMMI elearning course, or you can download the Quick Reference Guides for each model to review in advance of the exam and to use while taking the online, open-book exam.

Quick Reference Guide download Links:

  Step 3: Take the CMMI Associate Exam

The 30-question, 90-minute online examination is composed of multiple choice, true/false, and multiple select questions. The examination is open book and may be taken at home or work.

Registration is available via American Express, MasterCard, and Visa. 

The CMMI Associate Exam fee is $250.

You may choose to register for a bundle that includes the CMMI Associate Exam and the Fundamentals of CMMI course for $675, which is a 10% discount.

  Step 4: Receive your Certification

If you pass the CMMI Associate Exam, your certification will be granted. You will receive a certification diploma and will be listed in the online CMMI Associate Directory.

  Step 5: Renew your Certification

Certified CMMI Associates must retake the certification exam every three years to ensure that they are educated on the latest CMMI best practices and models.

Helpful Info

CMMI Institute Certifications have a number of steps with detailed requirements along the way. This list is intended to be a helpful place to find the forms and fees connected with each step of the your certification journey.

Please see the “Getting Certified” tab for all of the Certification details.

Certification Step Applicable Fees
Introduction to CMMI for Services course  Fees vary by instructor
Introduction to CMMI for Development course Fees vary by instructor

Fundamentals of CMMI elearning course
Create a new account or log into your account 
in the CMMI Institute Online Training Center to register.

CMMI for Acquisition Quick Reference Guide  
CMMI for Development Quick Reference Guide  
CMMI for Services Quick Reference Guide  
CMMI Associate Exam $250
Purchase the bundle for 10% discount
Fundamentals of CMMI elearning course and CMMI Associate Exam

Getting Started


Register for the CMMI® Associate exam

Bundle and Save

Register for the Fundamentals of CMMI® elearning course and the CMMI® Associate exam together to save 10%.


CMMI® Institute helps organizations discover the true value they can deliver by building capability in their people and processes. Learn More

101 Countries Organizations use CMMI to elevate performance in 101 countries.
  • Colombia
  • US
  • UK
  • Bulgaria
  • Qatar
  • Kenya
  • South Africa
  • China
  • Malaysia
  • Vietnam
  • Thailand
11 National Governments 11 governments invest in CMMI to support economic development in their countries.
  • Chinese, Simplified
  • Chinese, Traditional
  • Arabic
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
  • Korean
10 Languages CMMI models have been translated into 10 languages.