Fundamentals of CMMI® Elearning


The Capability Maturity Model Integration is a capability improvement model that can be adapted to solve any performance issue at any level of the organization in any industry. This beginning elearning course will teach you about the CMMI models used to improve performance in product development, service delivery, and procurement and meets the course pre-requisites for the CMMI Associate certification. For more details, please see the FAQs for this item here.


This self-paced elearning course introduces students to the CMMI models, process areas and terminology. It includes 12 modules and provides the basic knowledge needed to begin applying CMMI in an organization or project. 

Bundle and Save: Register for the Fundamentals of CMMI® elearning course and the CMMI® Associate exam together to save 10%.

This course enables participants to:

  • describe the components of the CMMI models 
  • discuss the process areas of all three CMMI models: Acquisition, Development, and Services
  • locate information in the various reference materials

This course meets the prerequisite training requirement for the CMMI Associate certification.

For Appraisal Team Members, completion of this course replaces the Upgrade Training requirements.

Successful completion of this course requires that participants complete all modules within 90 days. After finishing the course, students may click "transcript" to print a Certificate of Completion.


The Fundamentals of CMMI Elearning course does not require any specific preparation. We recommend that you download the quick reference guides for all three models to assist your learning.

Quick Reference Guide download Links:

Registration is available via American Express, MasterCard, and Visa. 

Courseware is available 24/7 via several browser platforms such as IE, Chrome, and Safari for a full six months after purchase.

Completion of the Fundamentals of CMMI elearning course followed by passing the CMMI Associate exam will qualify you to be a Certified CMMI Associate. If you register for the Fundamentals of CMMI elearning course and the CMMI Associate exam together, you will save 10%  Please see the CMMI Associate Certification page for more details.


CMMI® Institute helps organizations discover the true value they can deliver by building capability in their people and processes. Learn More

101 Countries Organizations use CMMI to elevate performance in 101 countries.
  • Colombia
  • US
  • UK
  • Bulgaria
  • Qatar
  • Kenya
  • South Africa
  • China
  • Malaysia
  • Vietnam
  • Thailand
11 National Governments 11 governments invest in CMMI to support economic development in their countries.
  • Chinese, Simplified
  • Chinese, Traditional
  • Arabic
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
  • Korean
10 Languages CMMI models have been translated into 10 languages.