What Is Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI)®?

What Is CMMI®?

CMMI is a world-class performance improvement model for competitive organizations that want to achieve high-performance operations. Proven effective in organizations and governments globally over the last 25 years, CMMI consists of collected best practices designed to promote the behaviors that lead to improved performance in any organization.

CMMI Institute models help identify and improve the key capabilities that elevate your organization’s performance, quality, and profitability. CMMI offers four models that can be customized to fit your needs for different environments.

Discover which CMMI Institute Model is right for you.

What Are CMMI Maturity Levels?

CMMI Maturity Levels provide a rigorous benchmark rating method that enables you to compare your organization’s capability to its competitors, its industry, and itself over time. CMMI provides five maturity levels that demonstrate a visible path for improvement.

As an organization advances its capabilities, it can expect to achieve a higher maturity level by identifying areas of improvement, working to correct these areas, and integrating solutions across the organization.

By communicating your maturity level to stakeholders, you highlight your organization's capability and commitment to excellence.

What Is High Maturity?

By achieving CMMI Maturity Level 4 or 5, an organization demonstrates a deeper commitment to continuous capability improvement using statistical and other quantitative methods. High Maturity organizations are continuously evolving, adapting, and growing to meet the needs of stakeholders and customers.

Learn more about CMMI High Maturity organizations.


CMMI® Institute helps organizations discover the true value they can deliver by building capability in their people and processes. Learn More

101 Countries Organizations use CMMI to elevate performance in 101 countries.
  • Colombia
  • US
  • UK
  • Bulgaria
  • Qatar
  • Kenya
  • South Africa
  • China
  • Malaysia
  • Vietnam
  • Thailand
11 National Governments 11 governments invest in CMMI to support economic development in their countries.
  • Chinese, Simplified
  • Chinese, Traditional
  • Arabic
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
  • Korean
10 Languages CMMI models have been translated into 10 languages.